I am now a Twitt but not yet Twitterpated

You may chuckle at the title of this blog, or might even be offended if you are a Twitter fan, but nobody is laughing more than I am now.  As a fan of social networking in general I have looked at Twitter from time to time, but have never been tempted to join.  A random sampling of tweets had convinced me that tweeting was a silly diversion, filled with nonsense text bites that only served to tie people even more to their cell phones.

I began to see a practical purpose for Twitter two months ago when I began working at the library at my local community college.  The library sent out regular tweets letting people know information that was relevant to using the library, from a change in hours to the addition of computers in the study rooms.  These small direct sentences seemed to me to be a fast and efficient way of disseminating information.

Recently now, as I have begun to look at tweets from various librarians, I realize that if used correctly, Twitter can be a powerful tool for a library.  The key seems to be to tweet frequently and with engaging content.  While I see the benefits of Twitter I am still not in love with it.  Perhaps by the end of this semester I will have gained more of an appreciation.

On a more fun note I found that Twitter silliness can be…well…fun.    The following is a bit of Twitter Parody that I found on Mashable.

Twitter Parodies

2 thoughts on “I am now a Twitt but not yet Twitterpated

  1. Hi Wendy,

    Just a short note to say I appreciate how you title your posts: they’re informative, amusing, and catch my interest. Your blog posts feed into my Google Reader account with shorter blurbs than the other blogs of our classmates…perhaps that adds to the allure as well.

Leave a Reply

